Impacts on Early Emotional Development

My hope is to continue to do research in finding ways that will allow me to grow as an anti-bias educator by teaching children about different kinds of families and the concept of that “We are all the same; we are all different”, as this will “support children in feeling pride in their own family and be open to other children’s families” (Derman-Sparks and Edwards, 2010, p.114).  Becoming aware of the important role that adult’s play in the lives of young children has allowed me to see why it is important that I help, the children whom I teach, to construct a positive sense of self and a respectful understanding of others (Derman-Sparks and Edwards, 2010).  Therefore through this support, it is my hope to continue to support the positive identity development of every child and work closely with their families as well.  I would also like to say a big thank you to everyone in this class for giving me the opportunity to grow as an anti-bias educator.  Through your blogs, comments and discussion posts I was able to learn and grow as an early childhood educator.  Wishing you all the best for your next course!

Reference

Derman-Sparks and Edwards. (2010). Anti-Bias Education for young children and ourselves. Washinton DC: National Association for the Education of Young Children.

 

2 thoughts on “Impacts on Early Emotional Development

  1. Hello Lindie,
    As the times are constantly changing, continued research and growth within oneself and career is so necessary.I wish you all the best on your journey and thank you for sharing your insights!

    Like

  2. Lindie,
    You mentioned important key points that Julie Olsen Edwards mentioned within our video this week. We must keep learning and conducting research as we encounter each unique family! I have learned so much from you over these past weeks and I strongly believe that you will continue learning and growing for the children that you work with. You have broaden my perspective about the different families and how to interact with them while also allowing me to push myself to further my research and work harder. I wish you nothing but the best as you continue your journey overseas! Best wishes to you!
    – Sharee

    Like

Leave a comment